Skip to content
Industrial gas detection for demanding environments

technical guide

What Does a 4-Gas Monitor Detect? Gases, Limits & Selection

A common 4-gas monitor measures oxygen, carbon monoxide, hydrogen sulfide and combustible gas as %LEL. Those readings cover different hazards: they do not measure CO₂, and a low %LEL reading does not establish that solvent exposure is acceptable. Start with the gases present, then choose the measuring ranges and sampling method.

Eranntex technical guide cover: What does a 4-gas monitor detect? Product photographs of the BTYQ-MS104K-M and BTYQ-MS400-S portable gas detectors.

What do the four readings tell you?

The four readings use different units. Oxygen is reported as percent by volume, while CO and H₂S are reported in parts per million (ppm). The combustible-gas scale is a percentage of the lower explosive limit (LEL) of the calibration gas. [S1] These readings answer different questions, so one cannot stand in for another.

What each reading answers and what it does not
ReadingWhat the reading answersWhat the reading does not answer
Oxygen (O₂), % volWhether the air is oxygen-deficient or oxygen-enriched.Which gas displaced the oxygen, or how much CO₂ is present. See the CO₂ section.
Carbon monoxide (CO), ppmThe current CO concentration at the sensor.A time-weighted average, unless the instrument calculates one over a stated period.
Hydrogen sulfide (H₂S), ppmThe current H₂S concentration at the sensor.How a recorded peak relates to a TWA. See the H₂S peak and TWA record guide.
Combustible gas, %LELFlammability relative to the LEL of the calibration gas.Toxic exposure to the same vapor. See the solvent section.

Sources: [S1] [S2].

For CO and H₂S, a current reading and an exposure average describe different things. A peak shows a concentration reached during monitoring; a time-weighted average includes how long the concentration persisted. [S2] That distinction matters when an instrument records a brief high reading but a much lower average. The H₂S peak and TWA record guide works through that comparison.

Before comparing an exposure limit with a reading, identify the time period each represents. The US references below distinguish a time-weighted average (TWA), a short-term exposure limit (STEL) and a ceiling. [S2] Those references are not proposed factory alarm settings.

  • TWA: a time-weighted average over a stated period. [S2]
  • STEL: a short-term average, usually over 15 minutes. [S2]
  • Ceiling: a value that should not be exceeded at any time. [S2]

For BTYQ-MS104K-M and BTYQ-MS400-S, our specifications list low, high, range and TWA/STEL alarm modes. [S3] The supplied modes and set points belong in the quotation, with the gas combination and measuring ranges. Alarm settings must follow the applicable jurisdiction and site program; the mode list alone does not establish those settings.

How do measuring range and accuracy affect the CO reading?

Choose a CO range that covers the concentrations the job requires, then assess accuracy near the readings used for alarms or exposure assessment. A wider range can cover higher concentrations, but it does not necessarily give the same absolute error at low concentrations. Our model documents list the following gas and range options for BTYQ-MS104K-M and BTYQ-MS400-S. [S4]

Selected gas and range options for BTYQ-MS104K-M and BTYQ-MS400-S
MeasurementMeasuring rangeDisplay resolution
Oxygen (O₂)0–30% vol0.01% vol
Carbon monoxide (CO)0–100 ppm0.01 ppm
Carbon monoxide (CO)0–1000 ppm0.1 ppm
Hydrogen sulfide (H₂S)0–10 ppm0.01 ppm
Hydrogen sulfide (H₂S)0–100 ppm0.01 ppm
Combustible gas0–100%LEL0.1%LEL

Sources: [S4].

The difference is easy to see when accuracy is expressed as a percentage of full scale (FS), the upper end of the measuring range. Our specification table gives a typical accuracy of ±3%FS, with higher-accuracy sensors available as an option. [S3] At that rating, 0–100 ppm gives an absolute tolerance of ±3 ppm, while 0–1000 ppm gives ±30 ppm. [S3; calculation] Display resolution is the smallest displayed step; extra decimal places do not reduce that tolerance.

NIOSH recommends 35 ppm as a CO TWA and 200 ppm as a ceiling. The OSHA permissible exposure limit is 50 ppm as a TWA. [S5] The narrower range reduces the calculated error at the same %FS rating, but cannot cover a 200 ppm event. The choice therefore depends on both required coverage and the applicable error specification.

Our CO type-evaluation reports give a different error statement: a maximum permissible error (MPE) of ±5 μmol/mol or ±10% for the 0–1000 μmol/mol configuration. [S6] [S7] Those reports record tests at 150, 300 and 700 μmol/mol, rather than near 35 ppm. They provide evidence for the wider range under the reported laboratory conditions, but do not establish its error at every lower concentration.

CO accuracy specifications: calculated tolerance and laboratory evidence
Error statementRangeWhat is established near 35 ppm?Conditions and limits
Specification table, typical ±3%FS0–100 ppm±3 ppmTypical value; test conditions not stated. Cannot read a 200 ppm ceiling event.
Specification table, typical ±3%FS0–1000 ppm±30 ppmTypical value; test conditions not stated.
Type-evaluation MPE: ±5 μmol/mol or ±10%0–1000 μmol/molNot tested near 35 ppm. The report states ±5 μmol/mol or ±10%. Three units per model tested at 150, 300 and 700 μmol/mol. BTYQ-MS104K-M: 20–24 °C, 35–55 %RH. BTYQ-MS400-S: 21–23 °C, 55 %RH.

Sources: [S3] [S6] [S7]. Calculated values use the method and assumptions given in the text.

Across the reported CO test points, the results ranged from −1.7% to +5.3% of the reference gas. [S6] [S7] The tests covered 20–24 °C, whereas our typical operating range is −20 to +55 °C and 10–95 %RH. [S3] [S6] [S7] A purchase specification that depends on a low CO reading at another temperature needs performance evidence for that condition.

The calculator below answers a narrower question: which listed ranges satisfy a chosen concentration and error requirement if the stated %FS figure applies? With a rating of ±q%FS, the range must satisfy Cmax ≤ FS ≤ 100 × E ÷ q. Here Cmax is the highest required concentration and E is the permitted absolute error in ppm. [S3; calculation]

Interactive check

Compare range, resolution and error

  • 0–100 ppmResolution 0.01 ppm±3 ppm
  • 0–1000 ppmResolution 0.1 ppm±30 ppm

Arithmetic screen: 80 ≤ FS ≤ 166.67 ppm. Listed range meeting both conditions: 0–100 ppm. Confirm the applicable accuracy specification before acceptance.

This screen applies the selected %FS rating to the listed ranges. A different documented accuracy specification needs a separate assessment.

For example, covering 200 ppm while limiting absolute error to ±5 ppm gives no solution at ±3%FS. [S3; calculation] That result rules out the stated %FS specification for the task; it does not rule out a different documented accuracy specification. Any alternative still needs evidence for the concentration and conditions required by the job.

Can a low %LEL reading rule out harmful solvent exposure?

A low %LEL reading cannot establish that solvent exposure is acceptable, because flammability and toxic exposure occur at different concentrations. For n-hexane, NIOSH lists an LEL of 1.1% by volume and a recommended exposure limit (REL) of 50 ppm as a TWA. [S8] Using that LEL, even 1%LEL corresponds to 110 ppm. [S8; calculation] A small reading on the flammability scale can therefore exceed the exposure reference.

n-Hexane at 10%LEL compared with US references
ValueConcentrationWhat the value describes
10%LEL of n-hexane1,100 ppmFlammability, by gas-property conversion; not a detector reading
NIOSH IDLH1,100 ppmImmediately dangerous to life or health
NIOSH REL50 ppm TWARecommended exposure limit over a workday

Sources: [S8]. Calculated values use the method and assumptions given in the text.

At 10%LEL, the calculated n-hexane concentration reaches 1,100 ppm, the NIOSH immediately dangerous to life or health (IDLH) value. [S8; calculation] OSHA 29 CFR 1910.146 also defines a flammable atmosphere above 10% of the lower flammable limit as hazardous in covered permit spaces. [S9] Staying below that flammability boundary does not demonstrate control of toxic exposure.

There is a second distinction: converting a gas property is not the same as predicting an instrument reading. Our %LEL type evaluations used methane; the BTYQ-MS400-S test configuration used a catalytic sensor with an MPE of ±5%FS. [S10] [S11] A sensor calibrated with methane needs its own response data for other combustible gases. [S1] The selector below changes the LEL reference in the calculation, without modelling that sensor response.

Interactive check

Same %LEL, different volume concentration

Example reading
10%LEL
Volume concentration
0.5% vol
Parts per million
5,000 ppm
  • Methane 5% vol LEL → 5,000 ppm at 10%LEL
  • Propane 2.1% vol LEL → 2,100 ppm at 10%LEL
  • n-Hexane 1.1% vol LEL → 1,100 ppm at 10%LEL

Gas-property conversion only. It does not predict the response of a sensor calibrated on another gas, provide a correction factor or set an alarm.

The conversion uses the published LEL references for methane, propane and n-hexane. [S12] [S13] [S8] For an n-hexane application, the flammability requirement and the exposure requirement should therefore remain separate in the enquiry.

Two separate requirements for an n-hexane job
RequirementInclude in the enquiryEvidence needed for the offered instrument
Flammabilityn-Hexane, %LEL scale and calibration gas.Sensor-specific response to n-hexane; a gas-property conversion is not enough.
Exposuren-Hexane in ppm, the applicable limit and its averaging period.A ppm-level measurement method with matching performance data; a general “VOC” label is not enough.

Sources: [S1].

Our documents list VOC ranges from 0–20 ppm to 0–10,000 ppm, and both models have a built-in gas library. [S3] [S4] Those features alone do not establish n-hexane performance: selection still needs the offered sensor’s response data and the required ppm range. On BTYQ-MS104K-M, a PID measurement and %LEL also compete for the same documented sensor position. [S3] That combination limit affects the model choice when both measurements are needed.

Why does a normal oxygen reading not rule out CO₂?

An O₂ sensor measures oxygen, so its reading cannot tell you how much CO₂ is present. If oxygen-free CO₂ mixes uniformly with air initially containing 20.9% vol O₂, the oxygen fraction falls as the air is displaced. The calculation is O₂ = 20.9 × (1 − CO₂ fraction). [Calculation] At 3% vol CO₂, the resulting O₂ reading is still 20.27% vol.

Ideal displacement: CO₂ concentration and calculated oxygen reading
CO₂ in the mixtureCalculated O₂ readingUS reference at that CO₂ level
0.5% vol (5,000 ppm)20.80% volNIOSH REL and OSHA PEL: TWA 5,000 ppm
3.0% vol (30,000 ppm)20.27% volNIOSH short-term REL: 30,000 ppm
4.0% vol (40,000 ppm)20.06% volNIOSH IDLH: 40,000 ppm
6.7% vol (67,000 ppm)19.50% volAbove the IDLH; O₂ reaches the 19.5% vol boundary in OSHA 29 CFR 1910.146

Sources: [S9] [S14].

At the NIOSH CO₂ IDLH of 40,000 ppm, the same calculation gives 20.06% vol O₂. [S14; calculation] That is above the 19.5% vol oxygen-deficiency boundary in OSHA 29 CFR 1910.146 for covered permit spaces. [S9] This example explains the blind spot; uniform mixing and oxygen-free CO₂ are calculation assumptions, not a prediction of a particular release.

Where CO₂ is a hazard, a separate CO₂ measurement is needed. Range selection then follows the same coverage-and-error question as CO: which concentrations must the instrument read, and how accurate must those readings be? Our documents list the following CO₂ options. [S3] [S4]

Documented CO₂ ranges and the US references they reach
CO₂ rangeHighest US reference within the range
0–5,000 ppmTWA 5,000 ppm, at full scale; the short-term REL and IDLH are above the range
0–50,000 ppmShort-term REL 30,000 ppm and IDLH 40,000 ppm
0–5% volIDLH 40,000 ppm (4% vol)
0–100% volAll three references; check the error that applies near your decision value

Sources: [S4] [S14].

The 0–5,000 ppm option reaches the NIOSH TWA reference only at full scale, while the short-term and IDLH references lie above it. [S4] [S14] A range that reaches 40,000 ppm covers those higher reference concentrations, but range coverage alone does not establish accuracy. The next section explains why adding CO₂ to O₂/CO/H₂S/%LEL also depends on the model’s sensor arrangement.

Which model and sampling arrangement fit the job?

For monitoring where gas can reach the instrument, both models support diffusion sampling. For a remote sample, BTYQ-MS104K-M uses an attached external pump, while BTYQ-MS400-S has a built-in pump that can be switched off for diffusion. [S3] Choose between those arrangements after deciding where the sample must come from and which gases must be measured together.

BTYQ-MS104K-M: diffusion with an external pump

The standard accessories include an external pump and a filter. [S3] The MB20A pump identified in the type-evaluation report is rated at 500 mL/min. [S11] The photographs show the instrument by itself and with the pump attached.

BTYQ-MS104K-M portable gas detector, front view
Instrument
BTYQ-MS104K-M with its external pump attached and a filter above the inlet
External pump attached

BTYQ-MS400-S: built-in pump with diffusion mode

The built-in pump is rated at 0.5–1 L/min with at least 10 flow levels. Standard accessories include a 0.2 m gooseneck sampling probe and a filter. [S3] Both models also offer a 0.6 m stainless-steel handle or a 0.9 m telescopic handle, each with 1 m of hose. [S3]

BTYQ-MS400-S portable gas detector, front view
Instrument
BTYQ-MS400-S with a gooseneck sampling probe and inlet filter attached
Sampling probe attached

Gas combinations can decide the model before sampling does

Our specification table describes both models as configurable for one to four gases, with expansion to five or six. [S3] It also gives different sensor-combination rules. A supported gas range is therefore not enough to establish that all required gases can be measured together.

Documented sensor combination rules
ModelDocumented combinationsWhat this means for O₂ + CO + H₂S + %LEL
BTYQ-MS104K-MOne EX, CO₂, PID or infrared sensor plus three electrochemical sensors; or four electrochemical sensors; or CO/H₂S plus three other gases.The %LEL sensor uses the single EX, CO₂, PID or infrared position. Adding CO₂ or a PID measurement is outside the documented combinations.
BTYQ-MS400-SPlug-in digital sensors, automatically identified, in any combination.A fifth measurement such as CO₂ is an expanded configuration; we confirm it in the quotation.

Sources: [S3].

For O₂/CO/H₂S/%LEL plus CO₂, BTYQ-MS104K-M is outside the documented combinations because CO₂ and %LEL use the same sensor position. [S3] BTYQ-MS400-S is the model to evaluate for that five-gas requirement; the exact combination and CO₂ range still need confirmation in the quotation. The same reasoning applies when solvent exposure requires a PID measurement alongside %LEL.

Compare runtime for the configuration you will use

The more-than-100-hour figure for BTYQ-MS104K-M applies to diffusion operation without catalytic, infrared or PID sensors. [S3] It therefore cannot establish runtime for an O₂/CO/H₂S/%LEL configuration. BTYQ-MS400-S is documented at more than 20 hours in pumped operation. [S3] Because the two figures describe different loads, the quotation needs runtime for the proposed gas configuration and sampling mode.

Allow for the complete sampling path

A pump’s flow rating does not establish how quickly the complete kit will detect a target gas. The type-evaluation reports contain measured response times for the tested configurations and modes, as shown below. [S6] [S7] [S10] T90 means the time to reach 90% of the final reading.

Response times measured in type evaluation
Model and gasSampling mode in the testMeasured response time
BTYQ-MS104K-M, CO 0–1000 μmol/molDiffusion13–14 s average, three units
BTYQ-MS400-S, CO 0–1000 μmol/molPumped10–11 s average, three units
BTYQ-MS400-S, methane 0–100%LELPumped8–10 s average, three units

Sources: [S6] [S7] [S10].

These results were measured at 20–24 °C and do not include an added remote-sampling hose. [S6] [S7] [S10] For remote sampling, the waiting time must account for the target gas, handle, hose and filters together. A complete-path response result addresses that question; the laboratory response figure alone does not.

The personal gas monitoring guide compares worn and remote monitoring, kit weight and runtime, and pre-use checks. For tubing, filters and sample conditioning, use the wastewater sample-handling guide. Those checks follow from the sampling path selected here.

Which explosion-protection record applies to the offered detector?

The approval question concerns the model and version being supplied, not the brand as a whole. The Chinese GB/T records below identify BTYQ-MS104K-M and BTYQ-MS400-S separately. Both carry Ex ia IIC T4 Ga, with an X suffix indicating special conditions. [S15] [S16] Those conditions need to be included in the project’s certificate review.

Model-specific certificate check — Chinese GB/T records
ModelCertificate and gas-atmosphere markingScope to keep
BTYQ-MS104K-MCCRI 24.2941X: Ex ia IIC T4 Ga.The identified version only; carry the X special conditions into your document review.
BTYQ-MS400-SCCRI 25.2157X: Ex ia IIC T4 Ga.The identified version only; carry the X special conditions into your document review.

Sources: [S15] [S16].

Neither of these records is an ATEX, IECEx or US approval. [S15] [S16] We hold other explosion-protection records with different markings, each limited to its own scope. The RFQ should name the required approval scheme so the offered model and configuration can be matched to the relevant record. A company management-system certificate cannot replace that product-level evidence.

What should I send with a configuration enquiry?

A useful enquiry identifies which gases must be measured together, each range and the permitted error. It also describes the sampling path. Add the required operating period and approval scheme so we can propose a configuration and identify the supporting records. Unknown requirements can remain open.

Enquiry worksheet

Prepare a configuration enquiry

Gas-by-gas enquiry worksheet
Required gasRange and unitPermitted error / time basisMust be measured withEvidence still needed

Entries stay in this page. Preparing text does not submit an enquiry.

Preparing text keeps the entries on this page. Copy the result into your RFQ when ready; no enquiry is submitted here.

Copy the worksheet into the configuration RFQ, or use the gas detector quotation checklist for the remaining order details. The BTYQ-MS104K-M product page and BTYQ-MS400-S product page provide the model specifications to review alongside the proposed combination.

Frequently asked questions

A configuration for O₂, CO, H₂S and %LEL does not measure CO₂. An oxygen reading cannot substitute for a separate CO₂ measurement: in the uniform-displacement example above, CO₂ at 40,000 ppm still leaves about 20.06% vol O₂. If CO₂ is part of the hazard assessment, include its range in the enquiry and confirm that the proposed instrument can measure it alongside the other required gases.
Choose a range that covers the required concentration, then compare the applicable accuracy specifications. At the same ±3%FS rating, a wider range gives a larger absolute tolerance. However, the 0–1000 μmol/mol CO type-evaluation reports state a different MPE and include tests at 150, 300 and 700 μmol/mol. Those laboratory results do not establish performance near 35 ppm or across the full operating-temperature range.
A %LEL alarm addresses flammability. For n-hexane, the published LEL makes 10%LEL equivalent to 1,100 ppm, far above the NIOSH TWA reference of 50 ppm. That calculation also does not predict how a methane-calibrated sensor will respond to n-hexane. Where solvent exposure is part of the job, selection needs a separate ppm-level measurement method and response data for the target solvent.

References

Bracketed numbers in the text link to these sources. The four type-evaluation reports are available below as Chinese-language PDFs. Other Eranntex records are available on request; public reference sources link to the issuing body.

Sources cited in this guide
Ref.SourceWhat it supports
S1OSHA Technical Manual, Section II, Chapter 3US guidance on direct-reading instruments; %LEL of the calibration gas.
S2NIOSH Pocket Guide: IntroductionDefinitions of TWA, STEL and ceiling.
S3Eranntex product specification table, 2026-06-15 edition. Published values also appear on the BTYQ-MS104K-M and BTYQ-MS400-S product pages.Configurations, typical accuracy, sampling, accessories and runtime, with their recorded conditions.
S4Eranntex model documents: gas-range appendices (Eranntex record).Single gas-and-range options; not confirmed gas combinations.
S5NIOSH Pocket Guide: Carbon monoxideREL, ceiling and OSHA PEL with their averaging periods.
S6Type-evaluation report HYQ202538502, Guangdong Institute of Metrology, 2025-02-20 (PDF, Chinese).BTYQ-MS104K-M, CO 0–1000 μmol/mol: three units, 20–24 °C, diffusion; laboratory result.
S7Type-evaluation report HYQ202538544, Guangdong Institute of Metrology, 2026-01-22 (PDF, Chinese).BTYQ-MS400-S, CO 0–1000 μmol/mol: three units, 21–23 °C, pumped; laboratory result.
S8NIOSH Pocket Guide: n-HexaneREL, IDLH and LEL; not a sensor response factor.
S9OSHA 29 CFR 1910.146Hazardous-atmosphere definitions for covered US permit spaces.
S10Type-evaluation report HYQ202538576, Guangdong Institute of Metrology, 2026-01-26 (PDF, Chinese).BTYQ-MS400-S, methane 0–100%LEL: catalytic sensor, three units, 20–22 °C.
S11Type-evaluation report F24-164-JJ (PDF, Chinese).BTYQ-MS104K-M, methane 0–100%LEL; lists the MB20A external pump rated 500 mL/min.
S12NIOSH: Methane monitoring during roof boltingMethane LEL of 5% by volume, used for conversion only.
S13NIOSH Pocket Guide: PropanePropane LEL of 2.1% by volume, used for conversion only.
S14NIOSH Pocket Guide: Carbon dioxideREL, short-term REL, OSHA PEL and IDLH.
S15Certificate CCRI 24.2941X (PDF)Chinese GB/T explosion-protection certificate for BTYQ-MS104K-M; identified version and X conditions only.
S16Certificate CCRI 25.2157X (PDF)Chinese GB/T explosion-protection certificate for BTYQ-MS400-S; identified version and X conditions only.

Products for further evaluation